gennepher

By gennepher

One in Hawarden, one in Faubourg D'Amiens Cemetery

I was running out of time again as my day is ending, and I just thought I would put a war grave in. As you can expect there are many of these from both World Wars.

I didn't expect my 'quick' research to come up with anything, but I should know better by now...

Arthur Henry Davies was a WWI casualty. He was Sapper 167769. His date of death was May 8th 1917, aged 26. He died of war wounds, Theatre of War, France & Flanders. We are told he attested for military service on 10 Dec 1915 at St Helens. It was on 11 Nov 1916 he embarked for France. Arthur Davies joined his unit 87th Field Company on 7th Dec 1916. He was admitted to hospital on 4th Jan 1917 rejoining his unit 3 days later. He was wounded again on 8th May 1917 and died the same day from these wounds.

His parents lived in North Terrace, Hawarden, Flintshire, and it was in the Hawarden churchyard I found his neglected gravestone. I am assuming they placed this memorial stone for him. By contrast he has a well kept gravestone in Faubourg D'Amiens Cemetery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.