gennepher

By gennepher

The Sleeping Child Garden in St Bees Priory...

I came across this late evening. I had popped in to see St Bees Church. The church was closed because it was late. However I could see the church's amazing sandstone archway and a celtic sandstone cross. On my way out I saw this overgrown garden pathway, and a notice saying Sleeping Child Garden.

My curiosity peaked, especially when something looks a bit overgrown. So I had to push roses and thorned things aside. I came to a sadly neglected tiny garden.

This sculpture was something else though. It was actually alive. I thought it was. I videoed it for a few minutes while my Ipad ran down the battery to flat, and I did not have directions to get home which I sorely needed as I was not in a place I knew. It got dark very quickly and was raining and then when I did get to the motorway, there was a detour off the motorway into areas that said no streetlighting after midnight. So pitch black driving in rain and I lost the detour signs....

I did get home. the angels were looking after me :)

But playing my video is a bit spooky, because it almost looks like the faces, especially the woman's face was moving independent of me moving the iPad....

I will post a link on here when I recover from yesterday and edit the vid and put it on You Tube.

Josefina de Vasconcellos appears to be Lakeland Sculptress, who died in her hundredth year of her life in 2005. She donated this and two other statues to St Bees Priory. I haven't had time to research her yet. I need to get this entry in before the bells of midnight strike....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.