GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAL!

My lackluster interest in the World Cup has certainly kicked up a notch after watching today's match between the US and Ghana. I loved watching the team from Ghana dancing, singing and playing a traditional bead wrapped gourd as they waited to take the field before the game. Their coach wore a suit and tie. TheAmericans looked dead serious.

What a game ensued. the US scored less than a minute into the game, Dempsey, who scored the goal had to leave the game briefly after getting hit in the face, Another US player was carried out on a stretcher with a hamstring injury. The humidity seemed to be getting to the Americans, but somehow, they hung in there and pulled out a win after a corner kick by a rookie substitute.

You could almost hear the collective groan from the American supporters when 5 minutes were added after 90 minutes of play for injury time. It wasn't the most elegant game, but the young American team got the job done. I wouldn't be surprised if the entire team is still panting, like Ozzie was an hour after his own version of the beautiful game at our local soccer, football, field.

As soon as I catch my breath, I plan to celebrate with a glass of wine! Needless to say, I've accomplished little else today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.