Journey Through Time

By Sue

A Cat

I went outside to see what I could find blip worthy, and this cat started talking to me. Meowwwww, meowwwww. I put out my hand, and s/he came right over and wanted to be petted. S/he is one of those that if your hand is above it's head, s/he will raise right up and rub it's head on your hand...demanding some attention and probably food. I told him/her that that was never going to happen and to be on your way home. But not before I snapped this close up of it's pretty face. By the by, just today I posted on Facebook an article from Birds and Blooms. We never did do this, but I am more enlightened now, and if we ever got another cat, it wouldn't roam outside.

Cats and Birds – A Dangerous Mix
Dr. Stanley Temple, a professor of wildlife ecology and conservation at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, completed a 4-year study on this topic with his colleague, John Coleman. They looked at the impact free-ranging domestic cats have on rural wildlife. By radio collaring many farm cats, the researchers found that in Wisconsin alone, cats kill at least 19 million songbirds and 140,000 game birds annually. Surveys from Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology confirm similar results.

Keep Cats Indoors – It’s That Simple
Studies like these recommend cat owners keep their felines indoors at all times, but this isn’t always convincing. Cat owners argue that their pets aren’t content to stay inside. As a cat owner myself, I understand where this concern is coming from. If you have a cat that is used to being outdoors, then of course it will show signs of wanting out. Perseverance pays off, though. It could take days or even weeks, but eventually your cat will adapt beautifully to its pampered life indoors. I know people who have retrained their cats to stay indoors, and without exception, they are delighted they made the change. If you’re starting with a kitten, it makes it easier. The various cats that have shared my life and home over the years have all been kept indoors from the start, and they’ve never shown the desire to go outside.


A cool and stormy day, especially in some spots around Portland with thunder storms dumping a lot of hail. We had some rain and heard some thunder, but that's about it.

Worked on the garage sale some today. More to do. See ya later, Blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.