Plus ça change...

By SooB

Not praying, but hoping

The terrible earthquake in Haiti has been weighing heavily on us today. Hour by hour the news seems to get worse. Three years ago Katherine had done something really good - I can't even remember what - and to reward her I said she could have any gift she wanted. She asked if we could sponsor a child.

So we did. She's nearly 15, and lives on the outskirts of Port au Prince in Haiti. From all I can see on the internet, her community has been badly affected by the earthquake. Now, I don't know her: we've never met or spoken, and as she can't write, I exchange letters with her cousin rather than her directly. But it still feels like a friend is in trouble.

Anyway, I'll do what we in the West always have the option of doing, and throw money at the charity we sponsor her with in the hope that (a) it might help a bit and (b) it might make me feel better. And tomorrow I'll write her that long letter I've been meaning to send for a few weeks. And find something lovely for her birthday next month.

The picture is of a wooden sculpture I bought somewhere (Thailand? Senegal?) and have always liked. I know it's just standard churned out tourist rubbish, but I like it (even though I can't remember where I found it!) And it felt appropriate today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.