Windows in Time

By ColourWeaver

Father Robin

Saturday evening was a quite sit in the Abbey Ground having my bought supper of salad and cheese with ham and pickle, washed down with a welcome Quarr Abbey Still Cider. I should have been having this overlooking Totland Bay, but having arrived at Totland Bay at about 4pm I noticed and so did a local store holder that I had a missing number plate at the front of the car. It is strange, but don’t remember losing it!

It is a bit like the man-hole cover in the drive way, I did not know I had one because I always parked my car over it and when I back off the drive, I’m not looking for it, because I’m more concerned for the traffic racing up and down the road. I suppose what I am saying is that it is easy to stop noticing things, because it is always there, one takes it for granted that it is where it should be...

Well my Totland Bay Walk from Fort Victoria for 2.5 miles went by the board. Got directions, to the possible, the only Halfords on the Island, at Newport and drove off to get a new number plate. Got there and found that I had no paperwork to prove I owned the car, in order to get a new plate, thus making me legally able to drive the car again and not be in violation of the Road Vehicle Regulations, which if caught is a fixed penalty fine. Halfords apologised, but could not held, without paperwork. Next, I went to Newport Police Station and reported the fact that I was minus a number plate and was not sure when it had gone missing...

Went back to Quarr Abbey to take the car off the road, fortunately for me the Police had better things to do than stop me for not displaying Car Registration Markings, because it was the second evening of the Isle of Wight Pop Festival and all none Festival traffic was diverted away from site, which suited me just fine.

The next thought was where is the paperwork? Since I could not find my credit car half of my licence, and I never carry the rest of the paperwork with me in case I lose it, or misplace it. So I unpacked the car and repacked it, I searched my camera bag, computer knapsack and unpack the repacked in part my suitcase. That part of the licence was nowhere to be seen.

I am not going to say that Father Nicholas and Brother Robert got on there knees and prayed over me or the car, but I do think some prayers were offered by a number of people including one person in Warwickshire Police Force.

Anyway, I’m going to Shanklin URC by bus tomorrow... Now that will be exciting!

P.S.
Father Robin has been so named, because he lives in the Abbey Grounds. He was very friendly. Flying passed me very closely, or perching for a short while on the edge of my bench. In time he sat on top of a small fir tree some three feet from me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.