Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Baby Gambel's Quail Have Hatched!

The 21-week gestation period is over! I got my first peek at a family yesterday as they scampered across the street in front of my car. Late this afternoon, a family scooted through my yard.

Mom and dad hopped out rather quickly but these two baby boys (you can tell they are male by their crowns) can't yet make the giant leap to the top of the wall. They had to make a run for the gate.

I got plenty of shots of the adults during nesting season. But, whew! They don't run in straight lines and are the quickest of the quick.

I said it once before - to capture a family in focus this year will be my challenge but I'm a realist. I had these two nearly cornered and they are still fuzzy!

catch up blips:
mom
high hummer
Mayberry

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.