middaypyjamas

By middaypyjamas

Three Hundred

300th Blip! Can you believe it? We're getting very close to a year now, how exciting.

In the meantime let me explain this photo. I wanted something rather special to commemorate my three hundredth blip and so sought to create this creation. It's a combination of 4 mirrors (the one in my bedroom, one from the hallway, and the two mirrored cupboard doors from my bathroom) and a bit of wood as the lid. It forms a 3D triangle; three sides, three hundred blips, a thin connection there. From there it's a simple matter of putting your camera inside it, set the timer, and quickly put the lid on and hope for the best.

It was a lot of fun to play with and I got some really nice shots so much so it became hard to chose which one to use. The only downside of it all is that there's no way to hide the camera, let alone the infinite cameras my mirrored triangle creates. Nevertheless, as I'm unable to share more than one photo on blip, I've attached some links so you can see a couple more. One I liked because it has a single candle in it which of course multiplies endlessly causing a field of tiny flames in the background, you can see it here. Another one holds only the camera, but with the flash on, it creates a great effect and I would have chosen it for today's blip if the flash had been just a tiny bit less bright, you can see it here.

I also played around with putting other objects in my triangle, including a little basketball and a rubix cube, causing infinite copies of these objects. However the only way to get a photo of it without the camera being in there too was to take it from above with the top off, which meant it also had a reflection of me and my bedroom in the background. Not as nice.

I'm sure you could do even more fun things with this setup, and maybe I will in the future, in the meantime we're only 65 days away from a year of blipping! Brilliant.

- Damian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.