Combi31

By Combi31

Kingfisher nest

OK, it's not a great photo as it is heavily cropped and I think my lens needs some serious calibration - which I'll get around to at some time.

I thought, however, that it would be of interest to those who have never seen a kingfisher nest.

The nests are sometimes scraped out in April, or as I have seen before, a disused rabbit burrow is used - apparently they don't reuse their previous season's nest, although I'm sure this one was used last year, if not by this pair.

This male had just caught a fish, which I managed to get some shots of, him diving and emerging from the water with a fish in his beak, but the quality isn't great - next time.

I have an old 2x teleconverter, which I may try putting on one day soon, although with my reflexes, I'll have to buck my ideas up....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.