The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Welease Woger

And so the day dawned on the EGM....

We went down to Port Talbot early so we could be there to support The Moff.

There was a pretty big turn out, more than the WRU expected as we had a security guard telling us what was going on.

We hung around outside for a couple of hours outside, but it was clearly going to be a long job. It was also Father's Day ... Which was always part of the WRU ploy. So we had to go in the end.

The end it turned out was utter humiliation ... The vote of no confidence achieved just four votes. Moffett by all accounts was given a complete shoeing and ridiculed throughout. It was a dismal end to five months work.

Of course the recriminations began on social media immediately after the result was announced.

People may rejoice at this but I will tell you hand on heart I have seen stuff that concerns me to the core about the sustainability of rugby in Wales. If anyone thinks the problems aren't there then they are deluding themselves.

We got to the point of the EGM because of the death of grassroots rugby. The clubs voted overwhelmingly to remain on that path. What they told us in the run up today and how they voted are poles apart. Have turkey's just voted for Christmas ... Time will tell.

One final thing ... I have not a single regret about becoming involved in all of this ... It has been one hell of a ride. There have been people who have dedicated five months of their lives to this, I've just been moral support for a lot of the time. I feel deflated ... I have no idea how they feel ...

But ... I have made several good friends through it all. And I know I am going to keep in touch with a few of them now.

Finally there is David Moffett. His MO may have been bonkers at times, but there is not a jot of doubt in my mind he wants the best for welsh rugby. It was always the problem, the messenger not the message. People may want to rue on that in the years to come.

I for one will always remain glad I met him and I will always call him the most unlikeliest friend I'll ever had ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.