The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

BBC's Summer Of Wildlife

How do you get over that empty feeling you get when this years Springwatch is over ... you get your bum down to Cardiff for a free event put on to by the BBC as part of their Summer Of Wildlife season.

The event was held on the lawns outside Cardiff Museum and was well worth the effort and the cold and the rain (and large car parking fee at the end of the day). From my perspective I would say the event was a huge success! I was particularly heartened by the number of kids getting involved in all the hands on stuff. My own little kid Dawn couldn't help herself, this is her helping extract DNA from an onion. A rather cool experiment I have seen done with your own DNA, and perhaps one I should now return to in a future blip, as it is something you can do in your own home.

The stars of Springwatch and the One Show were there and they took part in a quiz each hour in the lecture theatre in the museum (I room I didn't even know existed until yesterday!). It was aimed at kids, and it was a roaring success.

In the photo I chose for the blip we have Coast and the One Shows Miranda Krestovnikoff, Mike Dilger, the host of the quiz (who's name escapes me now), Nick Baker and Iolo Williams (his third blip appearance, getting ahead of Mike Dilgers second). I had a chat to Mike and Iolo, and got them and Nick to sign a birthday card to Bevosity as a present.

There was loads there to see and do. There was a falconry display, bat displays, lichen and moss experts, as well as how all the cameras on Springwatch work. It was all fascinating stuff. We had some excellent company with my mate Nigel and my mum and dad joined us later in the day. The sun eventually came out and the whole thing was a roaring success. More of the same please BBC!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.