The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

The Down Side Of Feeding Garden Birds

Your first reaction may by oh, how cute, he holding a goldfinch. The sad thing is the only reason I was, was because the poor mite was dying.

Other than being puffed up he looked in good knick. But I am fairly sure he had the dreaded trichimonas ... A horrible disease that basically causes swelling in the throat. He was hoping around the lawn when I went out there ... It was clear it was not right. I put my hand out and he hopped straight on ... It was clearly very weak now ... I tried to give it some water, but the poor little thing slipped away within an hour of this photo being taken.

It was a case of quickly disinfecting all the feeders this morning and I am hoping that's the only one I'll see.

Sorry it's a bit of a sad blip, but that's the downside of attracting birds to your garden. The greenfinch population used to suffer terribly on llantwit fardre when I lived there. Just keep your water sources and feeders clean guys and hope for the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.