CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Damsel in Dis Dress

We saw hundreds and hundreds of these this evening when we took Hector & Ziggy for a walk along the banks of the river.

I've looked them up, and I think they were broad-winged damselflies, or "desmoiselles". I believe that this is just a "family" and that there are about 150 types of desmoiselles or "Calopterygidae ". If you know better, please correct me, as I'd love to know exactly what they were. I think they must have been hatching today, as they were everywhere - except when I wanted to take a photo!

The river banks were alive with them, and in the evening sun they looked as though they were ladies rushing off to a ball, and wearing dark blue silk dresses. They were so pretty.

Ziggy and Hector were a bit embarrassed because they'd just been for a haircut today and were looking a bit sheepish - literally. they have short curly fur, and when they have been shorn they are very lamb-like. As much as anything, the grooming was to stop the goose-grass from getting caught in their fur. I blipped a picture of Ziggy adorned in the stuff a little while ago. They really hate this sticky weed, and it irritates our fingers as well when we pull it from their coats.

I won't see the damsels again tomorrow - got an AGM to go to. At least there won't be many people there, which should hasten proceedings, as England will be playing footy at the same time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.