Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Itsy Bitsy Spider...

Last summer I spotted my first ever Crab Spider and now I am quick to examine small flowers more closely. It paid off today when I found this wee fellow lurking on a small wild flower. I believe it is in the family Thomisidae, but beyond that, I'm clueless. Just an itsy-bisty spider! And one who was trying desperately to get away from me and my camera - every time I'd get close, he's zip to the underside of the flower - then when I'd turn the blossom over, he'd zip again. I finally left him in peace.

I hiked about 3 miles - not really far, but when you stop every few minutes to take photos, it takes forever! It helped my blues, though. And I saw lots of cool things, including my first blue-dasher dragons of the year (I count them among my very favorite of the dragons). I also watched a tree swallow feeding her youngsters, a daddy robin with am amazing number of squiggling worms in his beak, a gang of goslings and a beautiful butterfly (one I rarely see). I've posted 8 pics on Flickr, starting here with the Hackberry Emporer.

Our realtor dropped off the sales brochures for our house - very nice, glossy, heavy stock. Let's hope lots of people come to the Open House this weekend!

When I was in my office this afternoon, I saw two catbirds in the shrub outside my window carrying twigs. It appears that they are starting a nest for a second brood - wouldn't it be nice if they built it just on the other side of my window?? Well, we'll see - it may be that seeing my through the window will be a little too daunting.

Thank you for the kind comments on yesterday's e-blip. Summer makes e-blips ever so much easier, doesn't it?

Happy Hump Day, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.