The Artist's Supply Store

I think I always tend to take pictures of things I like, but today it was a conscious effort. Yesterday's pile of books awakened memories of sitting in a pepper tree reading when I was seven, passing the time with a book when I was 10 and hungry and could smell delicious smells of dinner wafting from the kitchen, or even now, pulling out a book in the doctor's waiting room in an attempt to forget about where I am. Today, I decided to hunt around for some more memories in the form of things I like.

I love walking into the art store where I am greeted, not only by Kristin, the friendly and helpful owner, but also by the smell of oil paint, turpentine and gesso. It is a treat for the eye as well--colored papers neatly shelved, brushes in all shapes, sizes and colors. cubbyholes full of pastels, colored pencils, pen and ink. The watercolor paper is a treat in itself--hot pressed, cold pressed, "toothy" and smooth. There is a frame shop in the back, and a children's section with books, colored markers, games, crafts and even a little wooden mannequin with joints.

I remember going in there with Will when he was a toddler and we were visiting Dana. He always made a bee line for the back of the store where he could feel he was hiding from us behind some easels. I bought a pile of colored 5"x7" paper photo albums for pictures of my growing brood of grandchildren.

Tonight we are doing another thing I like. We are introducing our neighbors to one of our favorite restaurants--Willi's Wine Bar. A number of years ago, I had foot surgery twice within 9 months. Each time involved two months in a cast and a number of trips to the foot surgeon, who happened to be in Santa Rosa.

Going to Willi's after visiting the doctor became a highlight of my rather restricted existence. They got to know us, and found a place in a corner for my crutches and me. I couldn't drive, so OilMan made it a threesome! The small plates were wonderful, a glass of wine from their excellent list didn't go amiss, and it was there that we actually took the first positive steps towards making a permanent move to Sonoma County.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.