Memories Are Made of This

I was hunting around for something this morning…it seems I am always hunting around for something…when I came across a timeline we made for our 25th anniversary party. My friend Ann Hyde, a historian, gave us a list of events which were current each year from the year we were married. Dana and I sat down with a pile of computer paper, some sharpies and a shoebox full of snapshots and mementos and made a page for each year.

Remember when computer paper came in long sheets with perforations between pages? We hung our finished project on the wall in the living room, stretching around three sides of the room. In an effort to preserve it, I separated the sheets and put them in a photo album, which materialized on a high closet shelf this morning. Now I've forgotten what I was looking for.

Of course I had to drop everything and look through the pages. I love this shot of Matt asleep in his crib, the toes of his foot peeking from under his cheek next to his hands.  Those were pre yoga days for me, but I couldn't resist taking his picture as he napped. I also couldn't resist seeing if I could do that now! Answer: resounding no! I console myself with the fact that baby proportions are very different from those of adults. Did you know that babies can't touch their hands together over their heads?

We ought to make another timeline for the next 25 years, but I don't know how much we could remember….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.