Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Eating garden

'I love having an eating garden,' said Tess this evening.

It was just what I needed to hear. I'd spent all day in the garden - supporting runner beans, French beans, sweetpeas; harvesting potatoes, garlic and salad. There's been a lot to catch up with since being ill. I found myself wondering just how much everyone else appreciates it or even cares - not in a sulky "Oi, you ungrateful bastards" kind of way, just in an "it would be nice to share this a bit more" and "I wonder if it's all worth it" kind of way.

After a lot of umming and ah-ing we sent Tess back to school today. She coughed a lot last night and went to sleep really late, and woke up with an uncomfortable tummy. But I think that's just from coughing. I just got the feeling she needed to go back in before she got anxious about not having gone for a while.

Anyway, she was absolutely fine and pretty much back to her usual self this evening.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.