Not feeding the ducks

Lovely sunny walk in Bushy Park with Emma!

I am learning lots of songs at the moment, tested a couple out on Max and the boys tonight, it's going ok…

Boo hiss why aren't we better at football?

Today a supply teacher suggested that a line in a story Gulli wrote could be interpreted as racist… the story began 'In deepest darkest Africa there lived a fat hippo called Bob….'
Um hello my son is 11, at primary school… after I got the last mad supply teacher banned from the school for physically turning Gulliver's head to the front of the classroom it seems the School are nervous about my reaction and the deputy head called me to 'pre-empt' a potential situation…. she was very much on the fence saying on the one hand that the teacher wouldn't be back but on the other hand saying that there aren't many deep dark forests and jungles left in Africa… and that it was a stereotypical phrase… isn't Paddington from 'darkest' Peru?
Max posted it on Facebook earlier… my favourite comment was from a friend of mine who is a head mistress who says…
'It is, in actual fact, a level 4 extended description- not racism!'
Only one person said the teacher had 'a point' everyone else (including friends of African descent) thought it was ridiculous!

Of course the sentence is also 'fattist'…..

I've told the school that next time a supply teacher comes in I would like Guulliver to come home. Some people just shouldn't be teaching, especially not in Primary schools.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.