Life within the Lens

By Brittany

work...no, works in progress!!!

I would have to say that art is my first love. It's always been a way of escaping when I have a paintbrush in my hand. I'm hoping photography will soon turn into that for me, but right now everything about it is so new, challenging and at times very frustrating. Now that I write that, I guess painting and drawing can be all those things as well at times. I just seem to feel more comfortable in the former field.
I can definitely remember when painting and drawing was a struggle and the furthest thing from comfortable. I remember my first official art class in 6th grade with Mrs. Pickelle and having to buy a sketchpad for weekly drawings. I think that is when I realized I had some artistic ability. I would stay up late at night shading my still life pictures, running back and forth from my dad so he could give his artistic tips. My love grew and I went on taking art classes all through high school where Mrs. Knipe, my high school teacher introduced me to the love of pastels. I think she realized how much I wanted to use my hands and get in there and blend colors to create shades and shadows. I've finally become to figure out that technique using paint and have grown to love working on panels of wood. All three of these paintings are unfinished but I'm plugging away. It's been testing at times without space for an easel. This photo is taken on my bed which also works as an art studio for now. I only wish these paintings had a due date on them like my sketchbook in 6th grade.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.