JohnW

By JohnW

Real (Meat) Pie Club

Today we visited a local Garden Centre, and as it was lunchtime we had lunch.

Now I’ve had a bee in my bonnet about (meat) pies in restaurants and pubs for the past fifteen years or more, and as they had a real pie in the menu I had to have a portion.

The thing that annoys me is when a pub or restaurant serves up a stew or casserole with a piece of dry puff pastry thrown at it and calls it a pie! No matter how nice a stew or casserole it is it is NOT a pie – it’s a stew or casserole with a piece of dry pastry!

We don’t get this problem with fruit pies, so why with meat pies?

One of my aims on retirement was to set up the “Real Pie Club” and get ‘members’ to rate pubs and restaurants on their pies – pass or fail being the first criterion. I’ve never got round to it.

The Waterside Garden Centre passed. Quality was good (I’ve had better).



(ps: My first recollection of complaining about a casserole with dry puff pastry thrown at it was when I was an engineer on a Shell tanker – before I met Mrs W – so that’s more than forty five years ago . . . )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.