WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

The longest day

It may not have been in reality, but it seems like it when you spend 90 minutes in the torture chamber dentist's chair. Hopefully the worst is over now, only four more appointments to go :-/ I have to remind myself that it's never as bad as I think it's going to be -- my dentist is very good, and I know the result will be perfect.

S kindly drove me there and back to save me attempting to drive in the wobbly state I was in by the time I came out. In the interim, he went into Lézignan and came back with 5 kilos of cherries for which he'd paid the grand total of 5 euros. Actually more than 5 kilos because the producer was so desperate to sell them that she threw in an extra kilo or so for nothing. They definitely needed using quickly, so we spent a chunk of the evening stoning them. I made a clafoutis with the first 500 grams; the next couple of kilos went into a pan to make compote, and the rest are simmering to make jam. It's a messy job, and as you can see we had to fortify ourselves with some wine while we were doing it. Then I cooked a very simple dinner (a quick, summery pasta dish). And now, finally, I'm sitting down after three solid hours' cooking. Phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.