Rhubarb Seeds

We have the nicest neighbors next door to us! Every time we go on vacation they bring in our mail, keep watch on the house, & water the plants; Jim's even been known to cut the grass while we're gone if it starts to get too long & we're not back home yet! He has a huge patch of rhubarb in his yard, & every year he tells me to help myself, as they "don't need that much"---the same with the tomatoes he's so fond of growing! I've taken some of both over the years, & back several years ago I planted a small rhubarb plant of my own since I found myself using the rhubarb in muffins, cakes & pies every summer.....only Jim's spreads every year & mine has stayed the same size...until this year! Don't know if it's all the rain, or the cooler temperatures, but this year I have about 8 of these stalks coming up out of the plant, all of them covered in seeds, so I'm thinking I'll have a BIG bunch of rhubarb next year! I thought the seeds were so neat--the shape reminds me of a cross section of an apple! (only in miniature!) I love things that grow on their own with no help from me!! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.