Jim Bob Luke

Off out to teh Edinburgh Film Festival this evening. I have, for some time, been eagerly awaiting the release of Cold in July. It's based on one of my favourite books by one of my favourite authors. I'd usually have mixed emotions about a film adaptation of a book I love as much as that, but Lansdale was involved in the production and loved it. I can see why he did, it couldn't have been done any better in my opinion.

General release is next Friday and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. My timing was great too, I arrived an picked up my ticket just in time to see Don Johnson, who plays the completely unforgettable Jim Bob Luke in the film, arriving. After grabbing a quick shot for my blip I headed in to find the cinema packed, but there was a spare seat right in the middle about two thirds of teh way back, pretty much the best seat in the house.

I hung about for the Q&A afterwards where Johnson and the director Jim Mickle talked about the film, Landsdale's book and his upcoming TV series based on Lansdale's long running characters Hap and Leonard, which also features Jim Bob Luke, hopefully with Johnson playing the role.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.