Good Morning and Goodbyes

~ Never say goodbye because goodbye means going away and going away means forgetting.~

Up at 2am to take Calum to the bus for his school trip to France.
A beautiful morning with sunrise an hour and a half away as we drove to the school.

There was a beautiful glow in the East but the noctilucent clouds to the North were what I had my eye on!

The wisps at the top of the photo (look a bit like stretch marks I think!) are the beautiful ethereal clouds I was trying to capture - this will be the last time I leave my wide angle lens at home!

As we were in plenty of time, I jumped out of the car and set up my tripod (Calum was expecting this moment the minute he saw the sky!).

I was cursing as I only had my 45mm prime lens on the camera but the sky was no less mesmerising as the wisps of noctilucent clouds began to disappear as daybreak tiptoed in..

"Muuuummmm" Calum said, diverting me from the task in hand... A police car had pulled up beside us.

I suppose we did look a bit suspicious, standing in a field at 3am...

Thankfully, my explanation was accepted and we were soon on our way.

A temporary goodbye to my eldest as he sets off on his first foray abroad without us, tears on the way home for his overwhelmed and over emotional mother.

A couple of hours in bed then up to face the day we have been dreading - our lovely neighbours and friends leaving for pastures new.

Driving them to the airport and saying goodbye were incredibly difficult BUT in this case, going away most certainly does not mean forgetting.

The clouds get the Blip as the goodbye photos will just make me cry again!

Bonne chance! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.