The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Ruscombe village from Cashe's Green

It took me an hour to get home! The bus was so late that by the time I got to Stroud from Cashe's Green, the bus I wanted to catch home had left ten minutes ago! So I walked, in the heat, and as soon as I got home my neighbour sprung me and asked if I could feed her cats this weekend. I said it wasn't very convenient because of all my invited guests, but she would not be dissuaded. I ended up saying that I might miss a session here or there.

Then I went back to weeding, or whatever....


After work I went to see the teen film The Fault in Our Stars. It was well adapted from the John Green novel of the same name, but I am about 30 years too old to find it deeply moving! Still, it made me think, and I'm glad that it highlighted illness and disability.

Then I went over to see Karen, post-op, in her new home in Cashe's Green. She was feeling a lot better than the last time I saw her in Gloucester Royal Hospital, less than a week ago. We had a long chat, then I had my even-longer journey home. About 11.30 I realised that the photos I was going to import were on the camera, not the card, and that is more complicated for my iPad. Hence, I ended up not blipping.

Here's a shot I took at the bus stop, outside Cashe's Green school. I did my very first playwork training there in 2002, and later observed the afterschool club on the premises. Happy memories!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.