Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Wystan Staples

Following a discussion of desk mascots, I thought I'd post a picture of this little fellow who lives on my main desk at home. He's a bean-filled turtle, and I found him in a small gift shop when I was out for the day with the then Wonderspouse-to-be, who bought him for me.

We named him Wystan Staples after a couple of Oxford's well-known literary figures, and he's a great companion when I'm working at my desk. I even talk to him sometimes (but don't tell anyone!!!).

He sits on a hand-painted Moorish tile which I bought from a ceramics outlet somewhere on the road between Jerez and Seville. In my dream house, one of the bathrooms is tiled entirely in these tiles, although for the time being I can only afford to own the one tile!

I think this tile is one of the most beautiful things I own, which is why I keep it in constant view on my desk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.