Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Redcurrants

I woke up with a headache, which I seem to remember I had for most of the night; with hindsight I think it was a migraine. I do not get them very often so after feeding our cats and our neighbours dog I went back to sleep. The postman woke me up twice, once on the way down and once on the way back as he wanted to leave next-doors parcel with me. Then when I woke up at about noon the headache had gone.

I had planned to do some gardening this morning, but it was rather too late to start and by noon it as much too hot. Instead I filled the bird seed feeders and cleaned and filled the bird bath and outside animal bowls. I also watered the tubs and hanging baskets and it was while I was watering that I noticed this. It is the GOG’s blip for today as by the time he comes home it will not be there. This is the first time that I recall seeing an opened flower on our Kiwi fruit bush. There have been buds in the past, but they have generally dropped off before opening and thinking about it possibly pruned off; this year the garden has been left so maybe we should not prune the bush when we normally do. This bush has been there for at least thirty years and although I have planted several more, as pollinators, as females and as self-fertilising, none have survived. I think I shall try with some more.

Today’s blip is redcurrants from one of our bushes, the whitecurrents are not yet ready and I am not sure I can get anywhere near the blackcurrants due to the state of the orchard.

When returning from the hospital this evening, laying in the lane outside the front garden I saw a tiny grass snake, unfortunately is was already dead so there was no point in moving it into the grass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.