Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

A Lucky Escape!

About 3pm I was driving up Church Lane, Lower Machen to go to the mast. It's a winding country lane and I could see a car 'flashing' me. I stopped momentarily and then realised that he was calling me to pass. Just as I was passing I saw it was someone I knew so decided to stop to speak. As I did so I saw some horses on my left run away at the same time as some sheep in a field on my right.

Seconds later, as I began to speak to my friend, the tree in the blip photo let off an almighty crack and fell into the road. If I hadn't stopped when I did it would have come down on my car! Talk about lucky escapes.

It looks like an old large tree that has simply rotted through age.

I continued up to the mast to fly my radio controlled plane. This crash landed in the long ferns and I spent ages searching for it in the long ferns. Good job too as I saw an elderly gentlemen that had been off road motorcycling and fallen off his bike which was on top of him. I thought he was about to have a heart attack with his breathing, and was running through my ABC training, in case.

I eventually got him and his bike to safety. The thermometer in my car read 37 c. All in all, I'm not sure it's been a good day for me. Two nasty horse fly bites and cut to shred legs searching through the ferns and bracken.

I got home to find a water leak right outside my house just when I wanted a hot bath to bath my wounds.

Washing my bloodied shorts, the washing tablet fell out the packet on the kitchen floor - that took me a good half hour of hoovering and mopping!

Then a hoax call from someone purporting to be from Microsoft. It wasn't (I checked with them direct) but a hoax call and they knew my home address.

...........And just as I type this with a beer in hand and footie on, I get an emergency call out!

Can't wait until tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.