Canalside Walk

I headed into Guildford today in search of a distant relation (cousin 4x removed) who lived and worked there as a Boot and Shoemaker in the mid-1800s. I found his house - now a Cafe Nero - on the High Street, and like its neighbours it is a rather impressive building. Even better, dropping into the Museum I found a display case of shoes, and there in the back was an old trade paper with a half-page advert for his services.

Continuing my wanders round the town, I found myself in a area I'd not been to before on the Wey Navigations. The path by the canal was rather busy with groups of walkers in red T-shirts heading along it - clearly some offical event. Checking on Google later I discovered they were taking part in a London to Brighton Trek, in aid of the British Heart Foundation. They started at Sandown Race Course around 8am this morning, and are due to arrive by 2pm in Brighton tomorrow after trekking over 64 miles or 105Km, including walking through the night. Good luck to them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.