Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Peek-a-Boo

I escaped the office around mid-afternoon and headed to North Camp / Ash border where I had seen another nature area. The first place I stopped at turned out to be mainly a children's play area, so I moved on and found Snaky Lane Wildlife Area - basically a large meadow with some trees and a pond in the centre.

I spent some time watching a large Dragonfly flitting across the pond - but it never stopped for a minute and was well out of the reach of my 250mm lens. A Jay sitting on a bench was another target, but again out of reach, and when I edged closer it took off.

Evenutally, I switched back to my favourite macro lens, and immediately caught this little critter (a grasshopper) clinging to a blade of grass. It's not the best of focus, but I liked the way that he seemed to be peeking round at me before leaping off into the undergrowth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.