A Walk in the Woods, with Mosquitoes!


Our visit to the Shantar Islands has been thwarted by bad weather. We awoke to wind and waves this morning, too rough to land and finally sailed down to a sheltered bay, in an area that was ice-locked last year, to find shelter. I decided not to kayak as it didn't look at all inviting. I did go for a walk with some others when we landed, and found this deserted trappers cabin. Although it would be a haven in a storm it was rather like the weather; not inviting. The mosquitoes weren't inviting either; they were huge! And biting furiously.

Our last sight on the beach was a wonderful red fox. Unfortunately my Nikon has packed a sad, wouldn't focus and after extensive examining back on board it seems as though the focussing system is faulty. I'm really disappointed, to say the least. I'm sure that Lizimagiz is going to sympathize, big time! First my computer charger started malfunctioning 2 days ago, but I'm able to charge it with someone else's charger. And the camera? I can use it in Manual which isn't great for wild life action. I still have the Canon G16 though, which will now be getting more use than I'd intended. Yay for having a second camera!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.