Craigieburns

Today we were in the Craigieburns, one of my favourite Canterbury locations.

To be a little geographical about it, they're about equidistant 100km from the east and west coasts, so in a Canterbury context are about as close as we can get to a continental climate.

Nice large

For the day after the shortest day, it was unseasonably mild (unless in the shade when it was downright cold). The snow is bony and the level high. The ski industry must be sweating.

It was an easier 5.5 hours than last week with more formed tracks. But there was rough stuff too which while more of a challenge to my foot, is what I prefer.

I was here back in October. Mum chose at least 1 photo from those I took that day for the calendar I gave her and Dad for Christmas. I was conscious of that today. It was another time but I carried Mum in my heart today.

A really lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.