JR

By jenaral

Fells Point

Class ended early so some of us quickly jumped into our cars and headed for the city. Baltimore is twenty minutes away from where I live, however, the program, especially early on, has not allowed for the opportunity to do anything interesting. We were really excited to feel normal and to leave the classroom environment. I was determined to sit outside, eat crab and drink a beer. The place we found not only was a dog friendly place, but it had a drink special, and a Friday crab dip special. It was perfect. We were cold outside but it was the warmest day we have in a long time. Before we headed home, we stepped into a place called Pitango Gelato were we began sampling a plethora of gelato and sorbet. This was by far the best part of the afternoon. Everything I tasted was heaven in my mouth- I can't explain it- it was just amazing! - but then I started to think, what is gelato anyway? I asked the man behind the counter and this is the response I got, "It's not ice cream because ice cream must contain a certain percent of milk fat- most ice creams have up to eighteen percent fat. Gelato is made with only five to eight percent milk fat. Gelato is also drummed in a different way than ice cream." I said, "Great, I will take some more of that black orange chocolate!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.