Still Life Day 2

Yesterday I started with the plate, two strawberries and a knife. Today I've added different elements into the equation and I'm not entirely satisfied with any of them. With this one I'm not too sure about the way one half of the pear dips below the other and I also think I'd prefer the white paper to cover the whole of the table area. But with each one I tried, there's a little something I'm not quite happy with, whether its the poppy going out of focus or a lack of light on the mug. I even tried adding in a strawberry to the plate - two red points equalled big mistake. Anyway the pears been eaten now so I might have another try tomorrow. New day, new pear!

Other news from today: gardening - cutting back the Valerian - I'm thinking about getting rid of it altogether. I love it when it fills the far flower bed with pink in the Spring, but hate it when it starts to seed everywhere. Followed by lunch with Mum & Phil, a short walk and a visit to the farm shop. And then a sit out in the garden - very hot this afternoon and fairly humid - though it doesn't seem to be forecasting thunder storms plus a little still life photography.

p.s. The mug was also from Earth & Fire (at Rufford) but by a different potter - Yo Thom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.