stujphoto

By stujphoto

An unannounced visitor...

We had two lots of visitors today, one lot , my son and his family were expected but the other arrived unannounced in the paddock behind us – a male roe deer. It is unusual for the deer to come in the middle of the day, usually they arrive either first thing in the morning or near sundown. He was happily grazing in the field in the middle of the day and one of my grand-daughters spotted him after lunch. As usual by the time I had got my camera with appropriate lens attached ready he was ready to leave. Fortunately he made a re-appearance just before they were about to go home at about tea-time and this time I was ready for him.

If this is the same male as visited us earlier in the year, his antlers are grow apace as before they were just furry stumps. I’m hoping that if he visits again he will have put on a bit of height because as you can see I am fighting a losing battle with the grass and weeds which are growing higher by the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.