Red Status Songster

I read an article this morning about the threat to wildlife caused by housing development in areas of ancient woodland. It was illustrated with a pic of a "rare song thrush."

I thought there had been some mistake. Maybe they meant to use a pic of a mistle thrush? We have lots of song thrushes on our property. I watch one hopping about on the lawn whilst I am reading the paper in bed. Another stations itself in an ash tree and "he sings each song twice over, lest you should think he never could recapture the first fine careless rapture!"

It wasn't a mistake, the song thrush is a red status bird in serious decline, the mistle thrush is amber.

My pic was taken from a distance and isn't very good but this is the rare bird I wake up to every morning hopping amongst the daisies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.