Howzat?! @insectweek

It's National insect Week run by The Royal Entomological Society. :) All about #LittleThingsthatRuntheWorld. You can follow online and take part across the UK. 23rd - 29th June 2014. Use hashtag #NIW2014

My pic is of a Roesel's Bush Cricket, named after German entomologist August Johann Rösel von Rosenhof. She uses her blade-shaped ovipositor for cutting slits into grass sheaths in which to place her eggs.

Once mature the adult males sing or stridulate to attract females. It is said to sound like a grasshopper or Savi's warbler. A bit like standing under an electricity pylon in a summer shower.

I love the way she twitched her long antennae as I was togging her. I found her in nearly the exact place I first found one a few years ago. They used to be quite scare but have spread recently by walking along motorway verges. Climate change has suited them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.