Marriage

A friend tells me she will be celebrating her 50th wedding anniversary this weekend.

After congratulating her it got me thinking: how many marriages will last that long in the future?


Well the statistics are confusing-
The current ones show that 42 per cent of marriages ends in divorce in England and Wales due to the recession.

But in Scotland the reverse is the case: less divorces not because marriages are happier in Scotland but because they claim couples can’t afford to divorce.

Well, both can’t be right.

So what’s this got to do with Monomonday Still Life?

Well I looked around my studio for some objects and my eye fell on these two sheep bones- collected from the nearby mountain and a small carving bought years ago on my travels.

The bones kept toppling over when I tried to make them stand upright for the photo and I remembered incident some time ago in a sculptor’s studio. He had made a huge sculpture of a red deer and one morning he walked into the studio and it had fallen down.
At first he was shocked and dismayed. Then he thought about it, the fallen animal, lying as if slain, was more poignant and dramatic than if left standing.

So I have left let my bones fall.

Maybe it says something about marriage today.

Thanks to Rainie for hosting this project.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.