Allium seed-head

One of those bread-and-butter survey days, trudging round some arable fields in Essex. By the time we finished it was intensely hot and sticky, and both Chris and I felt quite exhausted. As we drove across the Essex - Cambridgeshire border there was the most terrific thunderstorm, and for a while the rain was so heavy that I could scarcely see through the windscreen and the M11 was completely covered with about 2cm of water. Fortunately most drivers slowed right down, but a few were still speeding along, which seemed foolhardy when the risk of aquaplaning was so high.

As my site wasn't very photogenic I thought I'd have another go at the MonoMonday challenge - even though still life is not something I'd normally tackle. I thought about fruit and vegetables, but in the end liked this Allium seed-head, which I placed in a Victorian bottle scavenged from an old tip in Norfolk. I took the photo against our dark red wall, and then used a green filter to make the background appear black, enhancing the minimalist feel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.