Scorched wing

A lazy day, recovering from yeserday's revelries - or at least recovering from the preparations - particularly making umpteen various salads to accompany the barbecue. My back and leg were a bit painful so I had a lie in. Pete had cleared up most things by the time I came down - what a star!

At ten o'clock in the evening I suddenly realised I hadn't taken a photograph, but luckily the moth trap came to my rescue - who couldn't resist this beautiful scorched wing, which derives its English name from the moth's fanciful resemblance to burnt paper or similar substance. It's widely distributed in England and Wales, sometimes fairly commonly, and also occurs though less commonly, in Scotland and Ireland. Inhabiting woodland, the larvae feed on a range of deciduous trees, including oak ), birch and sallow. Following this spell of fine weather the garden list has now reached over 700 species!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.