Maintenance crew

Yesterday's warning notice about an interruption in electricity supply referred to either today or tomorrow. I was up early and heard unusual noises on the road. Looking out I saw that an electricity maintenance crew was in operation on the far side of the road. I went over to them to see if they could tell me which day my interruption would happen. "You're okay for today", I was told. "You'll have an interruption tomorrow.

That was reassuring, since I needed to do some cooking this morning. I'd taken water precautions and had filled a few pans and bowls while we still had water yesterday. As it happened, the mains tap was cooperating this morning, and waited until after 11.00 before it ran dry, by which stage my water requirements in terms of food preparation had been satisfied. Cooking consisted of Sweet Potato and Leek soup, which I wanted to have ready to bring over to Carl's place this evening. It was ready by noon, in time for me to get to the music session with a clear conscience.

It was a great session today, one of our quarterly concert programmes rather a regular everyone-brings-something-along session. We were treated to a tribute to Elizabeth Söderström, the great operatic soprano who died recently. The main work was a complete showing on DVD of Beethoven's only opera Fidelio. Great stuff. The after music chit-chat in Clontarf Castle was almost as good as the session itself.

Now it's time to pack up here and head southward to Carl's place. Hopefully the soup will go down well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.