CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

The Lily

Very damp and cloudy start to the day. In the garden, the flowers are looking fresh. I was particularly struck by a Lily, which came into bloom last evening. I wrote a poem, although I struggled because of the many themes and cultures which are represented by this beautiful flower.

The Lily

Lily, you represent so many things to so many people,
Faith, Hope and Charity, so strong and true,
Love, Happiness and Warmth!

Many peoples of the world, in many different ways,
Celebrate great occasions with your display,
Birth, Marriage and Death!

How I love to see you flower, in my garden tall and straight,
Bringing life and joy, to all who see you there,
Beauty, Glory and Splendour!


Have a good day - I am off to see my Cardiac Consultant for a review.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.