Glider at Ease

I consider gliding a fascinating sport ever since I had the fortune of getting a few - free of charge - flying lessons as reward for frequently helping the Flyingclub Haamstede in my teenage years.

Now I coincidentally drove on a rural road in Salland and spotted a glider landing right in front of me. I didn't even know there was a landing strip, but decided to take a brief look as I was not in a hurry.

I was damn lucky as the Aeroclub Salland was hosting a two day contest between Dutch and German clubs, so there was a lot to be seen.

Just take a look on my Flickr page to see several B&W's, also of the brand new motorized Heubacher-Falke that taxiied straight into my lens and I quickly had to get out of it's path, naturally AFTER I made my shot.
(you may also spot the TV reporter from RTV Oost shooting my action with a GoPro simultaneously ;-))

Later also met Marijn who currently flies at the club in Haamstede where I used to fly. He edited a cool film to demonstrate how passengers experience their maiden flight and is fun to see!

Have a nice flight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.