Athos, Porthos & Aramis

A group picture of these Three Musketeer friends of d'Artagnan was the first thought that came to mind when I passed these mega boots on my way home.

I just had to make a U-turn and go back to shoot it as the early morning sun illuminated it wonderfully.

When I arrived on the best spot it had become less spectacular as it had come into the shade of a big tree, so I had to wait half an hour till the sun came back, and to be honest.... I'm glad I did because the patchy light and shadows made it even more interesting.

I made a few B&W variations too and they can be seen on my Flickr page.

So why these big boots in a big grass field?

They are part of a large exhibition of contemporary French sculpture called 'Grandeur'.

It's being held at several locations in the bigger The Hague area from 6 June to 31 August.
The most monumental works of 25 contemporary French artists are being displayed on the Lange Voorhout in The Hague, other sculptures can be seen in Beelden aan Zee in Scheveningen and these gigantic rubber boots by Lilian Bourgeat’s are standing on the grounds of Raadhuis De Paauw in Wassenaar.

Small detail, I noticed that the artist only made one mold so these are two right feet. Makes me wonder where the giant left his - or her - two left boots ;-))) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.