Moments

By togrrrl

Two

Birding and making images with a camera, aka photography. Today, I was torn between the two.

Every winter, a few birds stray outside of their normal area, i.e., they get lost, seriously lost. And birders get excited because it's a chance to see a species that's different. A lot of birders also like to check another one off their lists. Today, we just wanted to see one of the most beautiful of North America's species, the Varied Thrush which has found a bountiful feeder thousands of miles away from its home.

So, there I was with Mr. Togrrl and a dozen other people with binos and cameras, waiting for the bird to pop out for a feed. And it did, and it was extremely beautiful - orange, grey, black. It sat for a while in an oak tree, the colours of the dead oak leaves blending with its plumage - just beautiful.

And all around were the other winter birds: American Tree Sparrows, nuthatches, chickadees, juncos, Hairy, Downy and Red-Bellied woodpeckers, cardinals and blue jays.

I felt impelled to take pictures, but I realized that I need to experience my birds direct - feeling at one with their sounds, their movements, the trees, the wind and the sun. I don't think I can do that with a camera.

But I do love to take pictures too and later got totally involved in the shapes, colours, textures and light of winter.

So for me, for now, the two forms of experience will stay separate. Both related to seeing, to observation and to being in the moment, but in very different ways for me.

P.S. I appreciate everyone's comments so much and just haven't been able to get back to everyone. Will endeavor to do that in the next few days.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.