A pretty hoverfly

I have been back at my desk today and finalising a range of documents for discussion at tomorrow night's working group meeting. The weather has been good yet again, with only a few clouds and not too hot.

I had a late lunch of boiled egg on toast and as I sat looking out into the garden I watched a few birds feeding outside the door. The two goldfinches that seem to still be with us were so pretty that I fetched my camera to try and grab a good close-up. But of course they then disappeared whilst I sat patiently waiting.

Before going back to work, I went into the garden for a short break for air and looked at flowers through the macro lens. As I sat beside a container I had potted up with a begonia and a couple of other plants this hoverfly volunteered to feed on the nectar and stayed flying for just long enough to attempt an aerial capture. I do realise that by using a tripod, I would improve the sharpness of the pictures but I am still quite impressed with the ability to hand hold and yet still get detailed images.

I looked up the hoverfly on wiki and see that it is attracted to alyyssum which is the name of the tiny white and purple flowers.

From Wiki:
Many species of hoverfly larvae prey upon pest insects, including aphids and the leafhoppers, which spread some diseases such as curly top. Therefore, they are seen in biocontrol as a natural means of reducing the levels of pests.

Gardeners, therefore, will sometimes use companion plants to attract hoverflies. Those reputed to do so include alyssum, Iberis umbellata, statice, buckwheat, chamomile, parsley, and yarrow.


An update:
I was pleasantly surprised to get a comment on my blip from last Saturday. Somehow the bride of the biker's wedding party I photographed had found the images online and she wants copies of my pictures. I think that shows ingenuity as I don't remember telling anyone I would be Blipping them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.