Poppies and the sunset

Today I started to clear the intrusive vegetation which has invaded our front garden. some of it was the usual airborne weeds, but others were from our neighbour's garden, annoyingly. I reclaimed many square yards of potential beds from the blight of brambles, old man's beard, ivy and the deadening effect of shade. I think I went over the top, but at least we can start again.

Tonight I was tired, and whilst enjoyably watching Rick Stein on tv exploring local foods in India, I suddenly spotted the pink sky of the setting sun, which is now become much more visible. I nipped out for a couple of minutes and stood in the flower bed next to the last of the big red poppy flowers, and the heads of the many that have already shed their petals.

I've played a bit with the light, so that I can use it for today's picture, as I don't want to go for too many days without blipping. I may regret it tomorrow, and withdraw the picture, but I like sunsets, and the longest day was only two days ago. Downhill all the way sadly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.