LovestoRoam

By MelanieMay

"In the day we sweat it out on the streets"

Today I bought myself a new pair of running shoes and I am determined to take up this running lark. Everybody I know runs or can run. I can run for 1.5 hours or more on the treadmill without stopping but once I get outside I am lucky if I can manage 2 min before I am gasping for breath, crippled with a stitch and fighting back the tears. So I bought these runners in the hope they will encourage me to try harder and do better. The guy who sold them to me told me they were a great colour as I could accessorise loads with them! I laughed in his face, asked him if he was serious and then told him that I have never 'accessorised' in my life and I don't care what shagging colour the runners are as long as they help me in my quest to beat the 2 minute mark! Well, I don't know how much they helped but something flicked on in my brain and I ran/jogged for a full 5km not stopping even when a devastating stitch attacked at the 4km mark. I soldered on. I finished in 33min and 33secs. I was so chuffed. I love the fact that I am one of these people who never gives up no matter how painful something might get. I totally believe in no pain no gain. Also, I did have some lovely encouragement from some lovely people and I didn't want to just shrug off their advice and support so I put everything they told me into action. So I am delighted with my effort and overall today was a great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.