Seven

I think there are seven nests on local rooftops. They start screaming at about 4 in the morning, an annoying whine: "Mum! Mum! Muuum!"
Then a lesser blackback will fly too close to the nest and a close aerial chase will ensue. With screaming. Occasionally, the parent herring gull (Larus argentatus), on the left, there, will decide that chasing off the lesser blackback gull is to be celebrated with a triumphant call from the top of a chimney.
And so it goes, all day.
On the way to the allotment today I was dive-bombed again. On the first pass they try to rake you with their toenails, or shite on you from a great height. Then it's an attack with the beak. I'm on the pavement! Why they think I'm a threat to their horrible little chicks on a roof fifteen metres up, I don't know.

Bloody dinosaurs :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.