Going Back in Time

Here is another one of Aunty Nancy's postcards of early Christchurch. Here is the blip I did on Tuesday showing you the next corner on High Street. Here is photo I took in about the same spot as where is postcard shot is from.

Before the earthquake on the left-hand side of my shot on flicker, was where the Holiday Inn was and the right hand-side was the Westpac high-rise. Things sure have changed over the years. You can just see in my shot taken in High Street the red Kinetic Wind Sculpture. That would be in about the place the Victoria Clock Tower stands in this postcard.

They are really interesting power poles and the laddies are well dressed in there best with wonderful big hats and long dresses. I would say it may be about the same date as the other postcard which was put around 1915 by the Public library.

I found this interesting site on Lost Christchurch Remembering our Lost Heritage that some may find interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.